So…yeah…I’m a vegan*

I am now a vegan*…Five words I NEVER thought I would say… No, I’m not a green-peace hippy. Nor am I on some self-righteous mission to save cows, pigs or chickens. Here’s some perspective.

*(Update 2/23/18 – Apparently true vegans don’t use animal products at all…I appreciate nice leather, not sure what I’m labeled as now…)

I loved meat. Breakfast. Lunch. Dinner. Fourth meal. Anytime! Meat was a vital ingredient in my diet. I built a reputation for myself based on my love for eating and passion for meat.

Just this past Christmas, I ate least 30 ounces of prime rib at an annual all-you-can-eat buffet at my grandparent’s club. The meat slicer knows me practically by name since I have been a multi-plate regular at his station for +20 years. He always cuts mine a bit thicker, thinking it would deter me from returning. Wrong!

This year, however, was a little more interesting. My cousin’s husband challenged me to a prime rib eating contest. Although every bite was delicious, we both lost and paid for our foolishness dearly in the following days. I’ll spare the details.

So, how/why did I decide to switch to a plant-based diet? What the Health. In an hour and a half, this Netflix documentary turned my world upside down. That’s hard to do. I am a skeptic when it comes to agenda-fueled documentaries, especially ones that suggest my precious red meat could be the cause of my future demise.

I won’t go into the specifics of the movie, but I will say that I started watching it with a frown and finished it with raised eyebrows, bug-eyes and shaking my head. I felt betrayed and worthless in the site of our government. Things came to light and it all made complete and perfect sense. So many foods I grew up learning are nutritious are the root cause of so many diseases and physical ailments.

The government, food and pharmaceutical industries think we are all stupid. Flat out. Doctors don’t even have our best interest in mind because they don’t have to, nor do they want to study nutrition. Books, collateral, and box labels are authored by industry, with the industry’s interests at the forefront. You are simply a dollar sign. The corruption and deceitful nature of our health organizations and leaders are sickening.

I’ll digress.

My wife and I started our plant-based vegan diet on February 2, 2018. We knew this diet would not be convenient at the beginning, but with each day, we learn something new. Our mindsets are simple. We will do the best can and will control what we can control. A slip-up from time to time may happen and that ok. We have to small children. When we are out and about and they need to eat, will get the healthiest food possible but won’t get discouraged if the options are limited and we have to eat some chicken or in the worst case a double-double.

Overall, we are happy with our decision. I’m hoping to eliminate my sleep apnea and my self-diagnosed IBS issues. With this diet, my arteries and veins will get cleansed, thus minimizing my chances of heart disease. My late grandfather died from heart disease, my other grandfather and father are dealing with this condition now. It was inevitable for me, based on the amount of meat, dairy, and eggs I consume on a weekly basis. Those food groups do have B-12, so we take these vitamins to supplement the plant-based diet. In this short time, I have yet to experience stomach pains and uncomfortable bowel movements which could plague me anytime of the day or night. Over time, we will transition our kids to our new regimen.

We came across a convenient, frozen vegan food brand, Gardein. The meatballs and chicken tenders we have in various meals thus far have been amazing. The prices are comparable with traditional non-vegan options.

I have opened my mind and learned to adapt to a plant-based diet. Tomatoes are no longer disgusting to me. I’m willing to try new things. I want to be around and active when my great grandkids are born. I’m so glad my brother-in-law encouraged us to watch What the Health. It saved our lives.

I’m not trying to convince you to change how you eat. I just wanted to share my story and let others out there know that a meat-lover like me can change. A vegan diet is doable.

###

Author: The Left Coast Dad

Christian | Husband | Father | Freedom-Blogger | Sheepdog | Filipino-Irish | Marketer | World Traveler | Komifornian Patriot

Leave a comment